Face-to-face

Photography: Rom de Guzman, Post-processing: Gabbie de Guzman 

This post was inspired by an amazing Art over Coffee session with Shutterpanda

Passion is an amazing thing to have. Passion for your work and your art, that’s what keeps you going. That’s what you wake up for in the morning. We do what we do because we are passionate about something. And for me, I didn’t find my passion in taking pictures. I found my passion in looking, noticing and observing things. I found my passion in seeing different perspectives, and putting myself in different shoes. And it just so happened, that photography was one of the most apt ways that I could express this.

More often than not, people think that passion is inspiration. And I am here to tell you that for me, it is not. Inspiration comes in waves. Sometimes it’s there and sometimes it’s not. Yes, we work better with inspiration in our souls but it is not what keeps you going. What keeps you going is your passion. Passion is to love deeply, and to love means to choose to do what you have to do, even when all odds are against you. Even on days when you just know in your gut that you can’t. I don’t even think that passion is in what you can or cannot do. What you’re passionate about is what your bigger picture is. It’s not in the method, it’s in the beautiful madness that you create that causes something, whether in yourself or in others.

Side note: Thank you to the Pandas for the Method to Madness talk today! 

Leave a Reply

