Journal Entry #8: 1/2/2017 Happy New Year!

2016 ,for me, has been a year of loss and recovery; of change and acceptance. There have been some big changes for me this year, and I can not be any more thrilled about them.

Anyway, this year’s festivities were extra special because our cousins who live on the other side of the world (Coquitlam, Canada), came to visit.

Our mandatory annual holiday photo shoot taken on New Year’s Eve

When I was young I was always afraid of the loud sounds and the extremely dangerous fireworks whenever New Year strikes. I would cry and hide behind my dad, and he told me that the louder we scream, and the brighter the fireworks, the more bad spirits we drive away. And ever since then, I would scream at the top of my lungs and I would watch the fireworks as the lit up the sky; hoping and praying that the next year would be a great one.

At 12 midnight, we all shouted and screamed “Happy New Year!” and went around to make sure we hugged everyone and kissed everyone on the cheek.

We spent the rest of the night singing and dancing and drinking and being happy. It was definitely one for the books.

IMGP1965.jpg

This whole holiday season was a great end to a year that was. I’m happy I got to spend it with my loved ones.

Leave a Reply

