To the ones who have gone

15781052_10210502604712973_7505038054961849324_n

You were gone too soon.

I once came about an essay about goodbyes. She talked about how she wished everyone had a light, and how every time she saw someone for the last time, that light would shine, and they would both say their good byes and then part ways.

Depression was a battle I thought I had to face on my own. I thought that I had to keep it within me, because it’s too shameful, it’s too dramatic, it’s not what people want to hear. But, when you lose too many lives on this sickness, this battle no longer only becomes my own. This becomes ours. I have been very vocal about depression, and my experience with it, and to be totally honest, my diagnosis feels like a distant memory, and I’m just really thankful that with the support of my family, and through therapy, I am where I am now. So the moment I heard about the deaths of my batch mates, I was drawn back to my roots, to where I started.

Depression isn’t something that you can just turn off, or un-feel. Depression is like an allergy. It’s an imbalance in the hormones in your body. It’s medical and should be treated as such. It’s not a figment of one’s imagination, it’s not a state of mind. IT IS REAL. And it is something we need to battle =.

 

Leave a Reply

